Home > Uncategorized > Rail Dumping!

Rail Dumping!

Here’s what rail dumping looks like >

Arrived in Dutch at 0230 this morning, which just happens to be the time that the bars close! I thought this was a great “coincidence”, my crew, not so much! Offload began @ 0530. Amazing how much work you can get done when you schedule offloads and fueling around bar closures.

Everyone was up most of the night due to Channel Fever”, the excitement you feel as you approach port. Not quite so strong on this boat as the one I used to run where we’d be at sea for up to 80 days with no landfall at all.

Nonetheless, when we rounded Priest Rock and saw city lights, we knew the end of the trip was upon us. 2 of the crew were able to fly out this evening, I fly out @ noon tomorrow, VERY excited to see my family! (& my IF family too!), and the boat leaves for Newport OR sometime in the morning. Kenny, the engineer, flew his wife up for the 8/9 day crossing. Kenny, by the way, has been on the boat since August, with only a 10-day break at Christmas. Makes my 2 months seem not quite so bad.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment